2023 Legislative Cycle review: Eleven additional states join the Counseling Compact 

Eleven states—Arkansas, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Montana, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Virginia, Vermont, Washington and Wyoming—enacted the Counseling Compact thus far in 2023, bringing the total number of member states to 28. The full compact map can be viewed here

The Compact enables licensed professional counselors who practice and reside within member states to practice without the need to obtain multiple licenses. 

The 11 new member states demonstrate great geographical diversity, representing every region of the U.S. and adding the ever-growing map of Compact member states. The 11 include both red and blue states, highlighting the bipartisan and collaborative approach of this state-led solution to increase access to counseling services. 

“The Compact continues to expand across the country as states recognize that the ability to practice across state lines is essential in meeting the mental health needs of so many people,” said American Counseling Association Chief of Professional Practice Dr. Lynn Linde to the American Counseling Association. “This is truly a milestone for the profession.” The American Counseling Association’s press release about Iowa and Vermont can be found here